Appointees are announced

Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan have announced appointments to boards, commissions and committees that work with the […]

Generic Article graphic with Access Press logo

Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan have announced appointments to boards, commissions and committees that work with the state. 

John Fechter, Wyoming, was reappointed to the Minnesota Commission of the Deaf, Deafblind and Hard of Hearing. The Minnesota Commission of the Deaf, Deafblind and Hard of Hearing serves as the principal agency of the state to advocate on behalf of the deaf, deafblind, and hard of hearing Minnesotans by working to ensure those persons have equal access to the services, programs and opportunities available to others. 

Jacqueline Buffington, Duluth, was reappointed to the State Competency Attainment Board. Buffinton serves as a mental health professional with experience in competency attainment. The State Competency Attainment Board creates and administers a statewide, independent competency attainment system that certifies competency attainment programs and uses forensic navigators to promote prevention and diversion of people with mental illnesses and cognitive impairments from entering the legal system. It also supports defendants with mental illness and cognitive impairments, supports defendants in the competency process, and assists courts and partners in coordinating competency attainment services. 

Several new and returning members were announced for the Governor’s Advisory Council on Opioids, Substance Use and Addiction The council identifies opportunities for and barriers to the development and implementation of policies and strategies to expand access to effective services for Minnesotans. The council also examines services, supports, and needs and provides opportunities for Minnesotans who have experienced addiction. 

Gavin Bart, Minneapolis, replaces Kyle Christianson. Brandy Brink, North Mankato, replaces Bobby Marines Jr. Suzanne Nash, Chisago, replaces Kate Noffke. Lynne Redleaf, Minneapolis, replaces Arden Two Bears 

Farhia Budul, Edina, was reappointed, as were John Donovan, Big Lake; Wendy Jones, St. Paul; Pamela Lanhart, Burnsville, and Kimberly Stokes, Britt. 

Appointees were named to the Governor’s Council on Connected and Automated Vehicles. The council reviews developments in connected and automated vehicle technology and intelligent and emerging transportation technology, explores partnership opportunities to remain prepared for the widespread adoption of new technologies, and proposes policies to safely test and deploy connected and automated vehicles. 

Stacy Davis, St. Paul, replaces Michael Gorman. Damien Riehl, St. Paul, replaces Phil Magney and is council co-chair. 

Access Press focuses on groups that have ties to disability issues. The state has more than 200 boards, commissions and committees. Learn more at Board & Commissions

  • Work with your care provider to stay healthy. Protect yourself. Vaccines are your best protection against being sick.
  • Wash your hands! Hands that look can still have icky germs!

You are not alone. Minnesota Autism Resource Portal.