Blazing Cats, Hawks with titles in Minnesota 2024 state adapted hockey tournaments

Adapted floor hockey teams from throughout Minnesota took over the gym at Coon Rapids High School March 8-9 to compete […]

Players playing in adapted floor hockey game.

Adapted floor hockey teams from throughout Minnesota took over the gym at Coon Rapids High School March 8-9 to compete for the state CI and PI titles. 

Defending CI champs Blazing Cats of Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville capped an 11-0 season by defeating the Trojans of New Prague/TCU/LSH/Belle Plaine/Jordan, 13-3, to reclaim the crown. The CI division is for athletes with cognitive disabilities. 

It was a high-scoring weekend as the Cats scored 15 goals in a first-round win over the Mankato Knights. 

Blazing Cats senior defenseman Caden Roseth led all scorers, with nine goals and an assist. Senior forward Clarke Ruhland added three goals for the repeat champions. 

For New Prague/TCU/LSH/Belle Plaine/Jordan, junior defenseman Trystan Seger scored two goals in the title game. 

Dakota United topped Stillwater/Mahtomedi 12-7 for third place. Junior forward Makai Smith and senior forward Kyle Jacobson tallied three goals apiece for the Dakota United Hawks. Junior forward Mason Mora-Clark provided the offensive spark for the Ponies, scoring all seven goals. 

Maple Grove defeated Mankato 10-9 in overtime for the consolation title. It was the first time Mankato had qualified for the state tournament.  Senior forward Alec Singh netted six goals for the Maple Grove Crimson. Sophomore forward Davaris Woods paced the Knights with four goals and one assist. 

The St Cloud Area Crush and South Suburban Jets were the other tournament qualifiers. 

CI all-tournament team members are Ruhland, Roseth and Riley Deutsch, Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville; Seger, Brady Nelson and Elliot Soukup, New Prague/TCU/LSH/Belle Plaine/Jordan; Colin Price and Mark Manwarren, Dakota United; Mora-Clark and Chase McCann, Stillwater/Mahtomedi; Singh, Maple Grove and Dhaanojak Okumo, Mankato. 

In the PI Division, the Dakota United Hawks defeated Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka Robins 5-1 for the state title. Dakota United finished 12-1-1. The PI division is for athletes with physical disabilities. 

Sophomore forward Jae Bahma scored three unassisted goals for Dakota United. Eighth-grade forward Grady Lease netted the lone goal for Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka. 

The Hawks won in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2016 and 2022. The team finished second last season. 

The defending champs from Brainerd went home with the third place trophy this year, topping the Rochester Raiders, 7-4. 

Freshman forward Travis Blankenship scored three goals and added three assists for the Brainerd Warriors. Junior forward Andrew Westerman struck twice for the Raiders. 
The Maple Grove Crimson defeated the Minneapolis South Tigers, 7-1 for the consolation crown. Freshman forward Ben Pfeifer led Maple Grove, scoring six of the team’s goals. 

Other teams in the PI tournament were the St. Paul Humboldt Hawks and South Suburban Flyers. 

Pi all-tournament team members are Bahma, William Warder and Cayden Needham, Dakota United; Nick Johnson, Jayda Johnson and Jose Leon Estrada, Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka; Blankenship and Aiden Olson, Brainerd; Westerman and Cooper Morrissey, Rochester; Jorge Rosas-Bravo, Minneapolis South and Evan Bartlett, Maple Grove. 

Coming up next are the spring tournaments, including adapted bowling and softball in May, with track and field wrapping up the year’s activities in June.

  • Work with your care provider to stay healthy. Protect yourself. Vaccines are your best protection against being sick.
  • Wash your hands! Hands that look can still have icky germs!

You are not alone. Minnesota Autism Resource Portal.