Dakota United, Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville win soccer crowns 

It was déjà vu all over again at the 2022 Minnesota State High School League Adapted Soccer tournaments. Teams that […]

Soccer player in wheelchair on indoor court

It was déjà vu all over again at the 2022 Minnesota State High School League Adapted Soccer tournaments. Teams that appeared in the 2021 CI and PI divisions’ finals were back for repeat matches. 

CI division teams are for prep athletes with cognitive disabilities. PI division team athletes have physical disabilities. The tournament was held November 18-19 at Stillwater Area High School.  

In the PI division, Dakota United reversed its 2021 fortunes with a 4-3 come-from-behind win over Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka. The Robins won 7-5 in 2021.  

Seventh-grade forward Anthony Dockter Jr. scored at 10:23 in the second half to put Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka up 3-1. Dakota United senior forward Fiona Sitzmann took over from there, netting three goals in less than five minutes to secure the victory for the Hawks. Sitzmann scored all four of the Hawks’ goals. 

Junior forward Jose Leon Estrada scored two goals for Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka. 

This was the ninth championship for Dakota United. The Hawks also won in 1993, 1997, 2001, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2017 and 2019. 

The Minneapolis South Tigers earned third-place honors, defeating the Rochester Raiders 9-1. 

Junior forward Nick Staloch and senior midfielder Jamal Tyus paced the Tigers’ offense with four goals apiece. Sophomore midfielder Alton Gasper added two assists. 

Senior Calvin Rowland scored the lone goal for Rochester. 

In the consolation final, the Anoka-Hennepin Mustangs topped the St. Paul Humboldt Hawks, 8-4. Senior forward Sophia Reither led Anoka-Hennepin, scoring three of the team’s goals. Ninth grader Cord’e Bauer added two goals and an assist for the Mustangs. 

Senior forward Dontae Willis and junior defender Stephanie Buse scored two goals apiece for St. Paul Humboldt. Willis also had one assist. 

Park Center was also in the seven-team tournament. 

PI All-tournament team members are Nick Reither, Anoka-Hennepin; Willis, St. Paul Humboldt; Staloch and Ally Tyler, Minneapolis South, Joe Hansen and Andrew Westman, Rochester; Estrada, Darius Larson and Calvin Bauman, Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka; and Sitzmann, Rohan Deshpon and Reece Martin, Dakota United. 

The Blazing Cats of Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville and Dakota United Hawks found themselves in a rematch of the 2021 CI title game. And once again the Blazing Cats triumphed, 7-4. 

The score was 4-2 with five minutes remaining in the first half, but junior forward Caden Roseth struck with 1:20 left in the half to give the Blazing Cats a 5-2 edge at the break.  

The teams traded goals in the second half, with Dakota United junior forward Mark Manwarren pulling the Hawks within 6-3 with 8:18 remaining. The score stayed steady until Roseth struck for his sixth goal and final goal, pushing the Blazing Cats’ lead to 7-3. The Hawks managed one more goal with 1:09 left in the game, but it wasn’t enough to overcome Burnsville/Lakeville/Farmington’s advantage. 

Four different players scored for Dakota United: ninth-grade forward Myles Johnson, sophomore forward Ada Kramer, senior forward Andrew Nathe and senior defender Thomas Christopherson. 

This was the third overall championship for Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville. The Blazing Cats also won in 2013. 

The Stillwater/Mahtomedi Ponies defeated St. Cloud Area 7- 2 for third place. Sophomore forward Mason Mora-Clark provided the offensive spark, scoring a team-high six goals in the win. Sophomore forward Chase McCann netted the remaining goal for Stillwater/Mahtomedi. Junior defender Maria McKnight and junior forward Dalten Huberty accounted for St. Cloud Area’s goals. 

St. Paul Johnson defeated Park Center 9-8, behind four goals from senior Jesus Guiterrez. Ninth-grader Gabriel Morales netted a pair of goals for the Governors and junior James Brown tallied two goals and one assist. 

Senior center Gaetano Sanders led Park Center with four goals and junior forward Emilio Hernandez had three assists. 

North/Tartan and Chaska/Chanhassen/Prior Lake/Shakopee were also in the eight-team tournament. 

CI all-tournament team members are Sanders, Park Center; Guiterrez, St. Paul Johnson; McKnight and Amara Ross, St. Cloud Area; Thomas Pitman and Mora-Clark, Stillwater/Mahtomedi; Kyle Jacobson, Johnson and Christopherson, Dakota United; Roseth, Angel Figueroa and Aaron Blood, Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville. 

  • Wash your hands! Hands that look can still have icky germs!
  • Work with your care provider to stay healthy. Protect yourself. Vaccines are your best protection against being sick.

You are not alone. Minnesota Autism Resource Portal.