Minnesota prep athletes win state titles in updated softball, track and field 

The Minnesota State High School League’s adapted prep sports program has closed the book on the 2021-2022 academic year. Adapted […]

Mankato Loyola's Aiden Gravelle racing in wheelchair

The Minnesota State High School League’s adapted prep sports program has closed the book on the 2021-2022 academic year. Adapted softball and track and field events wound up the academic year’s competitions in June. 

The state track meet was held at St. Michael-Albertville High School. In Class A girls’ competition, defending champion Emily Sullivan of LeSeuer-Henderson was the only entrant in the girls’ 100 and 200 meter dash wheelchair events. She was also the only competitor in the girls’ wheelchair shot put. 

Adaylia Borgmeier of Mankato East won the 100 meter wheelchair dash, with Tayla Gassman of Big Lake second in Class AA competition. The two also finished one-two in the 200 meter wheelchair dash. Borgmeier was the lone competitor in the 800 meter wheelchair run. Gassman was the only competitor in wheelchair shot put and discus. 

No one competed in girls’ Class AAA wheelchair events. 

In boys’ Class A competition, Aidan Gravelle of Mankato Loyola/Cleveland set two state records in the two shorter distance events. He won the boys’ 100 meter wheelchair dash, followed by Tyler Gunnarson of St. Charles, Tyler Shepersky of United North Central, and Toby Hagen and James Hagen of River Valley. 

Gravelle also won the 200 meter wheelchair dash in a record run, followed by Gunnarson, Toby Hagen and James Hagen. Gravelle’s third title was in the 1600 meter wheelchair run, with Shepersky placing second.  

Shepersky won the 800 meter wheelchair run, with Gunnarson second. 

Class A field events saw Gunnarson winning the shot put, with Toby Hagen and James Hagen placing second and third. Gravelle won the wheelchair discus throw, with Toby Hagen second. 

Class AA boys’ competition saw a mix of three athletes winning titles. Nelson Remington of Fairmont won the 100 meter wheelchair dash in Class AA, followed by Blake Eaton of Duluth Denfeld and Devin Filzen of Winona. Remington also won the 800 meter wheelchair run. 

It was Eaton, Filzen and Remington in the 200 meter wheelchair dash, and Eaton and Filzen finishing one-two in the 800 meter wheelchair run. Filzen won the class AA wheelchair shot put title. 

In Class AAA, Michael Allen of Wayzata took home titles in the 100 meter and 200 meter wheelchair dashes, and the 1600 meter wheelchair run. He also won the shot put title. 

The adapted softball tournament was held at Chanhassen High School. 

The high-scoring Dakota United Hawks, a co-op of seven high schools in Dakota County, completed a season of dominance with a 19-6 victory over Anoka-Hennepin in the PI title game. 

The Hawks (9-0) raced to a 12-1 lead into the fourth inning and didn’t look back. It is the fifth state championship for Dakota United and third since 2016. The Hawks captured the PI crown in 2019, the last time the state tournament was held in person. The 2020 and 2021 tournaments were postponed because of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

Senior pitcher Indigo Jaworski was 4 for 4 with four runs scored to power Dakota United to its eighth victory of the season in which the Hawks scored at least 12 runs in a game. Junior shortstop Fiona Sitzmann was 3 for 4 with two runs scored from the leadoff spot and was stellar on defense. 

In the third-place game, Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka used a five-run sixth inning to rally past Rochester for a 13-9 victory. Sophomore infielder Nick Johnson was 4 for 4 to lead the Robins on offense. 

Osseo was the other team in the tournament, which had fewer teams than in past years. 

 Members of the PI Division all-tournament team are Sophie McElwee, Osseo; Mark Cleveland and Jayda Johnson, Robbinsdale/Hopkins/Mound Westonka; Bradley Tischer and Stuart Batterson, Rochester; Garmin Neal, Nick Reither and Malachi Neal, Anoka-Hennepin; and Fiona Sitzmann, Sam Gerten and Indigo Jaworksi, Dakota United 

The PI Division is for athletes with physical disabilities. 

The Blazing Cats of Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville won the CI title with an 11-1 victory over New Prague. The champions were the only undefeated team in the CI Division, topping three opponents by a combined score of 41-6 en route to winning the team’s second championship since 2019. It was the Cats’ third title overall. 

Sophomore outfielder Clarke Ruhland capped the offensive surge with a home run in the bottom of the fifth inning which secured by rule the 10-run victory. It was Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville’s third victory over New Prague in three meetings this season. 

Dakota United took third place with a 10-9 win over Chaska/Chanhassen/Prior Lake/Shakopee. Junior outfielder Thomas Christopherson was 3 for 3 with two runs scored to help propel Dakota United. 

North Suburban topped South Washington County 15-2 in the consolation final. Osseo and St. Cloud Area were the other schools in the tournament. 

The CI Division all-tournament team members are Elliott Miller, South Washington County; Abby Pass, North Suburban; Colin Price and Mark Manuwarren, Dakota United; Jake Goetsch and Drew Hennen, Chaska/Chanhassen/Prior Lake/Shakopee; Aaron Adamson, Trystan Seger, and Evan Minar, New Prague; and Caden Roseth, Shane Baker and Miller Hertaus, Burnsville/Farmington/Lakeville. 

The CI Division is for athletes with cognitive disabilities. 

  • "Stay safe, Minnesota. Take steps to protect yourself, & others from the COVID-19 virus."
  • "Stay safe, Minnesota. Take steps to protect yourself & others from the COVID-19 virus."

Mental Wellness