Several appointed to boards, commissions, and committees

Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan have announce appointees to several state boards, commissions and committees that serve […]

Generic Article graphic with Access Press logo

Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan have announce appointees to several state boards, commissions and committees that serve people with disabilities. 

New and returning members were appointed to the Board of Occupational Therapy Practice. Mary Bartzen, South Haven, was reappointed as non-metro occupational therapist. Jessica Engman, White Bear Lake, was reappointed as metro occupational therapist. 

Katelyn Bills, St. Cloud, was appointed as a public member, replacing Jeffrey Malikowski. Karoline Pierson, St. Louis Park, was also appointed as a public member, replacing Stephen Jobe. Barbara Kloetzke, Shoreview, was appointed as metro occupational therapy assistant, replacing Lynette Buckley 

Beth Elstad, Duluth was appointed as chair of the Governor’s Advisory Council on Opioids, Substance Use, and Addiction.  

The Commission of the Deaf, DeafBlind, and Hard of Hearing has new and returning members. Aaron Peterson, Warren, is the Northwest Bemidji Advisory Council representative, replacing Les Fairbanks. Krista Dillman, Kimball, and Peggy Nelson, Minneapolis, were reappointed as at-large members. Jessica Eggert, Eagan, was appointed as an at-large member, replacing Tricia Oyaas. John Fechter, was appointed as an at-large member, replacing Ryan Odland. 

Nicholas Volkmuth. Princeton, was appointed to the Council on Disability, replacing John Fetcher. Quinn Nystrom, St. Michael, replaces Saido Abdirashid. Mai Vang, St. Paul, replaces Judith Moe. 

Dawn Bly, Fosston, Andrew Christensen, Northfield, and Nichole Villavicencio, Maplewood, were reappointed. Villavicencio is council chair. 

The Council on Disability advises and aids the governor, state agencies and the public on policy and the administration of programs and services for people with disabilities in Minnesota. The council advises, provides technical assistance, and collaborates with advocates to expand opportunities, improve the quality of life, and empower all people with disabilities. 

Samantha Flax, Minneapolis, is an advocate member for the State Rehabilitation Council for the Blind, replacing Mohamed Mohamed. Ryan Haenze, Stillwater, is client assistance program representative, replacing Kristina Petronko. Robert Hobson Jr., Maplewood, is vocational rehabilitation counselor member, replacing: Jessica Fordyce.

Kristin Oien, Minneapolis, is Minnesota Department of Education representative,  replacing Carolyn Cherry. Jennifer Points, Stacy, is the business, industry, and labor representative, replacing Mary Thompson. 

  • "Stay safe, Minnesota. Take steps to protect yourself & others from the COVID-19 virus."
  • "Stay safe, Minnesota. Take steps to protect yourself, & others from the COVID-19 virus."

Mental Wellness