Walz and Flanagan name several appointees to state advisory groups 

Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan have announced appointments to the Minnesota Assistive Technology Advisory Council, Minnesota Council […]

Generic Article graphic with Access Press emblem

Gov. Tim Walz and Lt. Gov. Peggy Flanagan have announced appointments to the Minnesota Assistive Technology Advisory Council, Minnesota Council on Disability and Ombudsman Committee for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities. 

Aaron Arvig, Lonsdale, replaces Abdi Matan on the Minnesota Assistive Technology Advisory Council. The Minnesota Assistive Technology Advisory Council provides the Minnesota STAR Program with consumer-responsive, consumer-driven advice for planning, implementing, and evaluating assistive technology activities. The STAR Program’s mission is to help all Minnesotans with disabilities gain access to and acquire the assistive technology they need to live, learn, work, and play. 

Cesar Gonzalez, Rochester, was appointed as a doctoral degree licensed psychology to the Board of Psychology. Gonzales replaces Stephen Walden. Jill Idrizow, Stillwater, was reappointed to the board as a public member. Salina Renninger, Falcon Heights, was reappointed as psychology training program representative. The Board of Psychology licenses psychologists, establishes rules of conduct and takes appropriate action against licensees who do not meet and maintain those ethical requirements, establishes or approves programs that qualify for professional psychology continuing education credit, educates the public about licensure requirements and the rules of conduct, and receives and reviews complaints against licensees who may have violated the Psychology Practice Act. 

James McKinstra, Moorhead, was appointed to the Minnesota Board on Aging. McKinstra replaces Kay Hendrikson. Christine Mueller, Roseville, replaces John Doan. Both are citizen members. The Minnesota Board on Aging develops, coordinates, evaluates and administers federal and state funds for programs for the aging; makes grants to seven area agencies on aging and non-profit agencies; and serves as advocate for older persons. 

Patricia Siebert, Minneapolis, was appointed to the Ombudsman Committee for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities. Siebert replaces Felix Montez. Panou Xiong, Minnetonka, replaces Alyssa Greene. Petronellah Thomas-Shanobi, Andover, was reappointed to the committee. The Ombudsman Committee for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities advises and assists the ombudsman in developing policies, plans, and programs to benefit persons with mental illness, developmental disabilities, chemical dependence, and emotional disturbance. 

Tammy Berberi, Morris, was appointed to the Council on Disability. Berberi replaces Leigh Lake. The Council on Disability advises and aids the governor, state agencies, and the public on public policy and the administration of programs and services for people with disabilities in Minnesota. It is a legislatively established advisory committee within state government to supplement the efforts of advocacy groups in the private sector and link those who are statutorily responsible for planning and delivering services. The council advises, provides technical assistance, and collaborates with others, and advocates to expand opportunities, improve the quality of life, and empower all people with disabilities. 

"Keep your health insurance. Do you have Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare? You can now get text messages when you need to take action to keep your insurance. Update your contact information to get texts."Many former refugees are helping to make Minnesota a better place for all